Answer: taxed goods such as glass, paper, paint, lead, and tea
Townshend Acts
Historians vary slightly as to which acts they include under the heading "Townshend Acts" but five are often listed: The New York Restraining Act 1767 passed on 5 June 1767 The Revenue Act 1767 passed on 26 June 1767 The Indemnity Act 1767 passed on 29 June 1767 The Commissioners of Customs Act ...
See more videos for Townshend Acts
The Townshend Acts were a series of unpopular measures passed by the British Parliament in 1767 that taxed goods imported to the American colonies.
Why Were They Called the Townshend Acts? Quite simply they were called the Townshend Acts because Charles Townshend the then-Chancellor of the Exchequer (a fancy word for treasury) was the architect behind this series of laws passed in 1767 and 1768.
With the Townshend Act new duties were placed on imports of glass lead paper tea to the Colonies from Great Britain. The revenue used from these duties would be used to pay for the colonial governors and judges.
Townshend Acts. Originated by Charles Townshend and passed by parliament in 1767 the Townshend Acts were a series of laws that related to the British-American colonies in North America. The acts named after the Chancellor of the Exchequer enabled Parliament to raise revenues in the colonies through the implementation of new taxes and trade regulations.
Townshend Acts (June 15–July 2 1767) in colonial U.S. history series of four acts passed by the British Parliament in an attempt to assert what it considered to be its historic right to exert authority over the colonies through suspension of a recalcitrant representative assembly and through strict provisions for the collection of revenue duties....